ElephantDrive will mark a file/folder as "archived" when the file/folder is deleted from the local device. (The file/folder will also be archived if it has moved from its original location or if it gets renamed.)
Let's say you have a file labeled "invoice.pdf" backed up to ElephantDrive from your computer. Then, you delete the "invoice.pdf" file from your computer. Your ElephantDrive backup job will recognize that the file no longer exists at its original location (deleted) and will archive the file in your ElephantDrive account.
Archived files can be retained indefinitely or for a specified number of days. To change how long to retain archived files, please edit your backup settings. (Click here to learn how to modifying your backup settings.)