Yes. You can set your account to automatically delete files that have been deleted from the device by making changes to the archiving rules of your backups.
Here's how (plus a little background on the process)..
One of the nice features of the ElephantDrive service is that it allows you to archive (retain) all data that you've backed up, even after you have deleted it from your local disk. By default, the account settings are configured so that files that have been deleted from your hard drive or local disk are retained in your ElephantDrive account on a permanent basis. When you browse your account, you can see them by selecting the "view archived" option.
However, using the Archiving Rule feature of a backup job, you can modify the the job so that it automatically purges these files from your ElephantDrive account after a certain time period, freeing up valuable storage space. Please note that this rule must be set for each backup job.
Watch a tutorial on how to set your Archiving Rule.
To access the Archiving Rule feature:
1. Login to the desktop application and click on the Manage Backups icon from the ElephantDrive desktop manager.
2. Select the backup job that you would like to configure, and click on "Edit Job".
3. Click on the Archiving tab.
4. Enable the rule by checking the box and input how many days you would like to retain your data after it has been deleted from your local drive.
If you would like to keep all files in your ElephantDrive account, regardless if they have been deleted from your local device, do not enable the rule (i.e. leave the box unchecked).
Article is closed for comments.