What happens to my data when my account/subscription is canceled?

What happens to my data when my account/subscription is canceled?

Upon cancelling an account/subscription, a data purging process is set in motion. Access to data within the account is immediately disabled. Shortly thereafter, each object in the account is moved into a queue for deletion. As each object is deleted, any metadata is removed from our production databases and the underlying data is deleted from its bucket at Amazon Web Services (AWS) S3 storage service.

AWS policy on S3 deletion is:

When an object is deleted from Amazon S3, removal of the mapping from the public name to the object starts immediately, and is generally processed across the distributed system within several seconds. Once the mapping is removed, there is no remote access to the deleted object. The underlying storage area is then reclaimed for use by the system. (see p. 36 of https://d0.awsstatic.com/whitepapers/aws-security-whitepaper.pdf)

AWS policy on storage decommissioning:

When a storage device has reached the end of its useful life, AWS procedures include a decommissioning process that is designed to prevent customer data from being exposed to unauthorized individuals. AWS uses the techniques detailed in NIST 800-88 (“Guidelines for Media Sanitization”) as part of the decommissioning process. (see p. 29, 72 of https://d0.awsstatic.com/whitepapers/compliance/AWS_Risk_and_Compliance_Whitepaper.pdf)

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk